Skip to content Skip to navigation


School of Chemistry and Materials Science

The School of Chemistry and Materials Science is one of the first departments established in the country. It came from the Physical Science and Chemistry Office when Sanjiang Normal School was established in 1902. In 1952, it became the Department of Physical Chemistry after the establishment of Nanjing Normal University. The Department of Chemistry was set up as an independent school in 1953. In April 2000, the Department of Chemistry was reformed into the College of Chemistry and Environmental Science. In September 2010, the school faculties were adjusted, and the College was renamed as the School of Chemistry and Materials Science.

So far, School of Chemistry and Materials Science has three departments including Department of Chemistry, Department of Materials Science and the Department of Applied Chemistry, and also six research centers, National-Local Joint Engineering Research Center for Biomedical Functional Materials, Jiangsu Collaborative Innovation Center of Biomedical Functional Materials, Jiangsu Provincial Key Laboratory of Bio-functional Materials, Jiangsu Key Laboratory of New Battery, Jiangsu Province Engineering Research Center for Medicine Functional Materials, Jiangsu Province Engineering Research Center for Extraction Separation and a Jiangsu Provincial Workstations for Academicians. 

Currently, we have 101 faculty members including one “National 1000 plan” oversea expert, one “the NSFC for Outstanding Young Researcher”, two “The Ministry of Education program for new century excellent talents” and five distinguished professors of Jiangsu Province, 23 PhD supervisors and 61 MS supervisors, and 1 team from the Jiangsu government. Professor Lijun Wan and Yongqiang Tu, Members of Chinese Academy of Sciences are our Honorary Professor. 

The School offers three Bachelor's degree schemes including Science Education, Applied Chemistry and Materials Chemistry and Ph.D. degree in chemistry (Inorganic Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, Analytical Chemistry, Physical Chemistry, Polymer Chemistry and Physics, and Chemical Biology). We can accept postdoctoral researchers. The discipline of chemistry is now supported by the Priority Academic Program Development of Jiangsu Higher Education Institutions. 

The school has established extensive international cooperation and academic exchanges with foreign institutions. It has hosted and sponsored the “5th International Conference on DNA Nanotechnology” and a number of international conferences, symposiums and workshops on various topics. Many world leading chemists have been invited to present lectures.

The School has been equipped with many advanced research instruments, such as high resolution NMR spectrometer, powder and single crystal X-ray diffractometers, high resolution transmission electron microscopy, field-emitting scanning electron microscope, SQUID magnetometer, time-resolved fluorescence spectrometer, high resolution mass spectrometer, and so on. 

Different levels outstanding candidates in all areas of chemistry are welcome to join our school.