Skip to content Skip to navigation


Brief Introduction of School of Electrical and Automation Engineering

School of Electrical and Automation Engineering (SEAE) of Nanjing Normal University (NNU) was early built up in 1954, and focuses on specialties of both electrical engineering and control science and engineering. There are two departments of Electrical Engineering and Automation, and Electrical Engineering Training Center. At present, SEAE has 102 faculty members, in which there are 60 full-time academic teachers and 22 lab teachers, including 12 professors, 26 associate professors and 13 senior lab teachers. Amongst, there are 33 doctors and 16 masters, as well as excellent teachers such as 4 of 333 Academic Leader of Jiangsu Province, 5 of Six Category High Talents of Jiangsu Province, and 5 of Excellent Young Teachers of Jiangsu Province.

In graduate education, there are first-grade discipline master program of Electrical Engineering, second-grade discipline master program of Control Theory and Control Engineering, and Professional Master Degree program of Electrical Engineering. Registered full-time graduates are about 150. Wherein, the program of Electrical Engineering mainly includes 3 second-grade disciplines, such as Power System and Automation, Power Electronics and Power Transmission, and Electric Theory and New Technology.

In undergraduate education, there are 3 majors of Electrical Engineering and Automation, Automation, and Measure and Control Technology and Instrument. Registered full-time undergraduates are about 1400. Both majors of Electrical Engineering and Automation and Automation were evaluated as Featured Majors of Jiangsu Province in 2010 and 2012, respectively, and were further chosen as electrical category key major of Jiangsu Province in 2012. Electrical Engineering Training Center was evaluated as Experimental Teaching Demonstration Center of Jiangsu Province in 2015. Moreover, SEAE has successfully conducted international cooperation bachelor education program with Northumbria University in the UK, for the major of Electrical Engineering and Automation since 2004.

In scientific research, there are 2 provincial scientific research laboratories and 2 university key institutes, which are 3D Printing and Equipment Manufacturing Key Laboratory of Jiangsu Province, Electrical Equipment EMC Engineering Laboratory of Jiangsu Province, Electrical Engineering Institute of NNU, and Information and Control Engineering Technology Institute of NNU, as well as 10 graduate workstations of Jiangsu Province. In the past 5 years, SEAE implemented 20 projects from National Natural Science Foundation, 30 ministerial and provincial-level research projects, and 40 bureau-level scientific research projects. More than 330 research papers were embodied in SCI/EI, 32 scholarly monographs were published, technology service contract reaches 30 million Chinese yuan, and 20 inventor patents and 90 utility model patents were authorized by State Intellectual Property Office.

In “13th Five Periods”, SEAE will focus on modifying electrical specialty structure and training academic leaders and aiming at the building of distinguished feature college, by implementing the five key strategies of discipline leading development, talent developing college, indomitable researching spirit, cultivating innovative talents and distinguished feature college, so as to become an international influential and distinct teaching and researching school in engineering education.